Dean's Cup - Cady & Gamble

The 12th annual Dean’s Cup was held on Monday, May 16, 2016 at Tournament Club of Iowa in Polk City. Forty golfers faced off in the morning match play. Iowa was led by Judges Eliza Ovrom and Art Gamble, while Drake was led by Chief Justice Mark Cady.

After lunch, the match players were joined by 70 additional Drake and Iowa golfers for the four-person best shot portion of the competition. Once the scores were tallied from the morning and afternoon rounds, Drake was declared the winner.


Adding to the fun there were several opportunities for participants to demonstrate their abilities to win a $5,000 cash prize on each of par three holes. Although no one claimed the grand prizes, there were a few close calls.

Dean's Cup - Longstaff awardFollowing golf, the participants shared post-round food and drink and bid on silent auction items. Prizes for various skillful shots (long drive, closest to the pin, etc.) were awarded. The 2016 event also featured the “Judge Longstaff Long Putt Award.” Judge Longstaff played an integral role the creation of the Dean’s Cup Golf Tournament. This year’s winner was Judge Michael Moon. Past winners are Matt McKinney (2014) and Ann Michelson (2015).


Former law clerks of Judge Longstaff generously donated funds to create this award. They include: Renae Angeroth, Debby Grimm, Carla Hamborg, Kelsey Knowles, Judge Larry McLellan, Kathy Nutt, Lindsay Vaught and Judge Colin Witt.

Dean's Cup - Justice Baker

In addition, a “Squires Club” award was given to seven golfers who have participated in the Dean’s Cup for ten of the twelve years the event has been held. This year’s new members are: Chief Justice Mark Cady, Justice David Baker, Fred Haskins, Jason Miller, George Oleson, Jason Miller and Kevin Reynolds.

There are currently 23 members of the Squires Club. Click here for the list.

Thank you to the 2016 Dean’s Cup Planning Committee: Eric Boehlert, Jeff Boehlert, Chief Justice Mark Cady, Jeff Courter, Charles Hill, Greg Kenyon, Judge Eliza Ovrom, Janey Piersall, Jerry Spaeth and Ben Ullem

Please mark your calendars for the 13th annual Dean’s Cup, scheduled for Monday, May 15, 2017 at the Finkbine Golf Course in Iowa City.

A special thank you to ARAG for sponsoring the Dean’s Cup event.


[Top picture: Chief Justice Mark Cady and Judge Art Gamble with the Dean’s Cup trophy.] 

[Middle picture: Planning committee members Greg Kenyon and Jeff Courter present Judge Michael Moon with the Judge Longstaff Long Putt Award] 

[Bottom picture: Justice David L. Baker receives his Squires Club award.]