The 13th annual Dean’s Cup Golf Challenge was held on Monday, May 15, 2017 at Finkbine Golf Course in Iowa City. This event is for all law graduates, faculty, staff and students of Drake University Law School and the University of Iowa College of Law – of every skill level – to support their law school, and, at the same time, raise funds for Iowa Legal Aid.

Iowa was led by Judge Eliza Ovrom, while Drake was led by Chief Justice Mark Cady. Forty golfers faced off in the morning match play, and 50 additional Drake and Iowa golfers joined in the afternoon for the four-person best shot portion of the competition. Once the scores were tallied from the morning and afternoon rounds, Iowa was declared the winner.

Golfers shared post-round food and drink and bid on silent auction items. Prizes for various skillful shots (long drive, closest to the pin, etc.) were awarded, including the “Honorable Ronald E. Longstaff Long Putt Award.” Judge Longstaff played an integral role in creating the Dean’s Cup Golf Tournament. This year’s winner was Ron Mountsier. Past winners are Matt McKinney (2014), Ann Michelson (2015) and Judge Michael Moon (2016).

The 14th annual Dean’s Cup has been set for Monday, May 21, 2018 at Echo Valley Golf Course in Norwalk.

Thank you to the Iowa State Bar Association Young Lawyers Division (YLD), and ARAG, and all of the hole sponsors for supporting the Dean’s Cup!


[Right picture: The Iowa team leaders Judge Eliza Ovrom and Dean Gail Agrawal are presented the Dean’s Cup by Drake team leaders Chief Justice Mark Cady and Dean Jerry Anderson]

[Left picture: Dean Gail Agrawal, Judge Eliza Ovrom, Jeff Courter]